skip navigation

MAPHL Awards

Player of the Year

AA Division

Year Player School
2020 Quinn Kennedy St. John's
2019 James Flannery Georgetown Prep
2018 Cole Vallese Gonzaga
2017 Cam Butler St. Stephen's & St. Agnes
2016 Ethan Roth St. Albans
2015 Ryan Dieter Calvert Hall
2014 Bobby Hally Gonzaga
2013 Jack Slater Gonzaga
2012 PJ McNamara Georgetown Prep
2011 Sam Anas Landon
2010 Justin Butler, Casey Thrush Georgetown Prep, DeMatha
2009 Nick Sorkin Bullis

* No awards were given out during inaugural MAPHL season (2007-2008).

A Division

Year Player School
2020 Jackson Barbieri Bishop O'Connell 2
2019 Pete Behrens St. Mary's Ryken
2018 Jack Martino Gonzaga 2
2017 Farrell Dinn Gonzaga 2
2016 Jack Massey Gonzaga 2
2015 Mason Leahy Good Counsel
2014 Alex Coakley St. Stephen's & St. Agnes
2013 Drew Nirenberg St. Stephen's & St. Agnes
2012 Ross Stotesberry Loyola Blakefield

* A Division began in 2011-2012 season.

Ervin J. Terwilliger Coach of the Year Award

In 2015, the Mid Atlantic Prep Hockey League unanimously voted to name the MAPHL Coach Of The Year award the “Ervin J. Terwilliger Coach Of The Year Award”, an honor that is voted upon by all the head coaches in the league.

Terwilliger began coaching Mt. St. Joseph in 1991 and accumulated 248 wins, 5 state titles, and 10 MIAA championships. He was a major contributor to the development of high school hockey in the Baltimore-Washington area. He was a mentor to many coaches and players who grew up in the region, including current head coaches Rob Trantin (Spalding) and Mike Marley (Mt. St. Joseph). Terwilliger was uncompromising when it came to sportsmanship and adherence to his guiding principles. Erv's “team first” philosophy would be the hallmark of his coaching legacy, producing admiration from his players and rival coaches alike. Former long time Landon head coach, Hans Farnstrom, stated, “As a coach, Erv was always a gentleman and a true sportsman. I always found him classy, genuine, and interested in what was best not only for his team, but for high school hockey.”

AA Division

Year Coach School
2020 Mike Marley Mt. St. Joseph
2019 Brian Danvers, Gregg Marinari Georgetown Prep, St. John's
2018 Rob Trantin Archbishop Spalding
2017 Chris Miller St. Stephen's & St. Agnes
2016 Dan Ryan St. Albans
2015 Tony MacAulay DeMatha
2014 Mike Shramek Calvert Hall
2013 Patrick McNeally Archbishop Spalding
2012 Sean O'Leary Georgetown Prep
2011 Chandler Gammill Landon
2010 Dan Ryan St. Albans
2009 Mike Shramek Calvert Hall

A Division

Year Coach School
2020 Derek Arledge Bishop O'Connell 2
2019 Nick Keppler, Mike Hendrix DeMatha 2
2018 Sammy Gerdano, Ford Lands Gonzaga 2
2017 Kevin Richardson Archbishop Spalding 2
2016 Ricky Sears Landon 2
2015 Chad Sillery Good Counsel
2014 Chris Miller, Evan Donnelly St. Stephen's & St. Agnes
2013 Chad Sillery Good Counsel
2012 Corson Fidler Landon 2