skip navigation

Recent MAPHL News

DeMatha Shuts Out St. John's in Penalty-Filled Contest


St. John’s and DeMatha opened their MAPHL seasons with a parade. But much to the chagrin of their coaches, it was a parade to the penalty box, as referees called 17 penalties, including three major infractions and minor penalties for slashing, cross-checking, boarding, holding, tripping, roughing, unsportsmanlike conduct and even a bench minor. Scrums after the official’s whistle had blown to stop play were commonplace.


The chippiness in play was mutual, the shots were about even (23 for DeMatha, 25 for St. John’s), and each team had their share of power-play opportunities. The difference in the game turned out to be a brief stretch in the second period when DeMatha exploded for three goals in just over five minutes of play.


The outburst started when Cadets goalkeeper Jack Spicer tried to clear the puck from his goal crease up the middle of the ice. The Stags’ Parker Smith intercepted the clearing attempt at the blue line and fired a shot that beat Spicer at 4:25 of the second period.  Christian Halbig’s power-play goal—a slap shot from the left point—made it 2-0 at 8:37, and Luke Leydig’s rebound of a Ryan Olson wrister gave DeMatha a three-goal lead just 56 seconds later.


Stags’ goaltender Matt Peterson picked up the shutout with several quality saves, including a toe save with under 10 seconds left in the second period.

DeMatha's Matt Peterson recorded a shutout in the Stags' 3-0, penalty-filled victory over St. John's at Rockville on Friday night.

Bishop O'Connell's Jake Smith was awarded a penalty shot after being hooked from behind on a breakaway in the Knights' 4-3 victory over Mt. St. Joseph's at MedStar Capitals Iceplex. Gaels' goalie Connor Churko stopped Smith's penalty shot.

O'Connell Edges Mt. St. Joseph's in MAPHL Season Opener


Bishop O’Connell and Mt. St. Joseph’s opened the 2018-19 MAPHL season in entertaining fashion as the Knights edged the Gaels, 4-3, at MedStar Capitals Iceplex on Tuesday afternoon.


Frankie Gregorini opened the scoring for Mt. St. Joseph’s with an unassisted power-play goal at 14:20 of the first period, firing a wrist shot through a screen from the top of the left face-off circle. O’Connell’s Sean Ostrowski evened the score with 12 seconds left in the first stanza. Carter Thompson picked up an assist on the play.


O’Connell dominated the second period as Ostrowski fed Jack Ahlstrom to put the Knights up, 2-1, at 9:15 and Alex Vouras ripped a wrister over the shoulder of Gaels goalie Connor Churko with just over a minute and half left in the period. Kyle Leverone and Ben Gibbons assisted on the play.


Mt. St. Joseph’s drew within a goal when Nick Komisar chipped the puck past the oncoming O’Connell defenseman at the offensive blue line, right to the onrushing Michael Garvin. The junior forward skated in alone and scored on a breakaway just 2:36 into the third period.


Vouras regained the two-goal lead for the Knights when he scored on a power play less than two minutes later. Ryan Lenaghan and Ben Gibbons assisted on the goal.


The Gaels, however, would not go away. Harrison Pantoulis and Jorrdan Osafo assisted on Scott Cremen’s wrister from between the circles with just over seven minutes to go in the game to draw Mt. St. Joseph’s within one again, 4-3, which began a wild finish.


O’Connell’s Jake Smith was awarded a penalty shot when he was hooked from behind on a breakaway in the waning minutes of the contest. But rather than close out the victory, Smith was stopped by Connor Churko, who poke-checked the puck away before Smith could get a shot off.

Gonzaga Tops Preseason Coaches Poll


Gonzaga is the consensus pick to win its third consecutive MAPHL championship, according to the league's Preseason MAPHL Coaches Top 10 poll. The Eagles received all first place votes and will look to become the first team to win three straight titles in the top flight AA Division.


1. Gonzaga

2. DeMatha

3. Landon

4. St. John's

5. Spalding

6. Bishop O'Connell

7. Georgetown Prep

8. St. Albans

9. Mt. St. Joseph's

10. Calvert Hall