skip navigation

Monocacy Valley Conference

The Monocacy Valley Hockey League is the home of Varsity and Junior Varsity teams from Frederick, Washington and Carroll counties.  Teams in the Monocacy Valley Conference skate at both Hagerstown Ice and Sports Complex and Skate Frederick.  The MVHL includes both pure high school teams and co-op teams who play against each other at least twice during the season.


The MVHL is named after the Monocacy River which is 58 miles long and a tributary of the Potomac River.  Considered a Maryland wild and scenic river, it flows through historic civil war landscapes and American Indian settlements.


The Monocacy Cup is awarded to the MVHL Conference playoff winner.  The top 4 finishing teams from the regular season compete for the Monocacy Cup.  The Monocacy Cup champion team subsequently advances to the state Round of 16 playoffs along with the runner up.  The winner of the consolation game will also advance to the Round of 16 as the third team representing the MVHL.


Starting in 2015-16, the MVHL playoffs include both co-op and pure teams. 


President/Commissioner: Tung Duong
Vice President/Vice Commissioner: Dan Velez
Scheduler & Registrar:  Nancy Dann
Safesport Representative:  Jamie Blackwood


Monocacy Cup Champions

2019  Urbana Hawks

2018  Carroll County Bears
2017  Oakdale Bears
2016  Oakdale Bears
2015  Middletown Knights
2014  Oakdale Bears
2013  Oakdale Bears
2012  Walkersville Lions
2011 Urbana Hawks
2010  Linganore Lancers


Monocacy Valley Co-op Champion
2015  Frederick County Kings (MSHL State Semi-Finalist)
2014  Washington County Northstars (MSHL State Champions)
2013  Washington County Northstars
2012  Washington County Northstars (MSHL State Champions)
2011  Washington County Northstars (MSHL State Champions)
2010 Washington County Northstars


Monocacy Valley Coach of the Year

2019  Toby Heusser- Urbana Hawks


Coaches from all 7 MVHL teams have voted to select these top players in the conference.
First Team
Harris Blackwood-Washington County Co-op

Carson Maggi-Frederick County Co-op

Yusof Gendergunoev-Middletown Valley Co-op

Perry Goodale-Carroll County Co-op

Andrew Bizzell-Middletown Valley Co-op
Will Callan-Walkersville-Frederick Co-op

Second Team
Gavin Peduzzi-Oakdale
Jake Carney-Carroll County Co-op
AJ Yuhas-Oakdale
Quinn Alley-Frederick County Co-op

Tony Shi-Urbana

John Hallman-Carroll County Co-op

The Monocacy Valley Conference Scholarship Committee is pleased to award a $500 MSHL scholarship to a Senior who exhibits exemplary academic performance while playing ice hockey on a Varsity team. Congratulations to the 2019 recipient and Carroll County Bear Ethan Almquist.  


Congratulations to Carroll County Bear Shannon Finch who was selected to receive a $5,000 scholarship from the Washington Capitals Alumni Association!


Recent Monocacy Valley News

No news currently found.


We will be collecting Toys for Tots at games on Friday, 12/7 and Friday 12/14.  Make a donation of a new, unwrapped toy appropriate for a boy or girl aged 1 through 12.  Toys will be distributed to families in Frederick County who are enrolled in the Toys for Tots Program.  Your generosity is appreciated!

Conference Leaders