skip navigation

The Monocacy Valley Hockey League is the home of Varsity and Junior Varsity teams from Frederick, Washington and Carroll counties.  Teams in the Monocacy Valley Conference skate at both Hagerstown Ice and Sports Complex and Skate Frederick.  The MVHL includes both pure high school teams and co-op teams who play against each other at least twice during the season.


The MVHL is named after the Monocacy River which is 58 miles long and a tributary of the Potomac River.  Considered a Maryland wild and scenic river, it flows through historic civil war landscapes and American Indian settlements.


The Monocacy Cup is awarded to the MVHL Conference playoff winner.  The top 4 finishing teams from the regular season compete for the Monocacy Cup.  The Monocacy Cup champion team subsequently advances to the state Round of 16 playoffs along with the runner up.  The winner of the consolation game will also advance to the Round of 16 as the third team representing the MVHL.


Starting in 2015-16, the MVHL playoffs include both co-op and pure teams. 


President/Commissioner:  Mike Brady
Vice President/Vice Commissioner: Tung Duong
Scheduler & Registrar:  Nancy Dann
Safesport Representative:  Tung Duong


Monocacy Cup Champions

2018  Carroll County Bears
2017  Oakdale Bears
2016  Oakdale Bears
2015  Middletown Knights
2014  Oakdale Bears
2013  Oakdale Bears
2012  Walkersville Lions
2011 Urbana Hawks
2010  Linganore Lancers


Monocacy Valley Co-op Champion
2015  Frederick County Kings (MSHL State Semi-Finalist)
2014  Washington County Northstars (MSHL State Champions)
2013  Washington County Northstars
2012  Washington County Northstars (MSHL State Champions)
2011  Washington County Northstars (MSHL State Champions)
2010 Washington County Northstars


Coaches from all 7 MVHL teams have voted to select these top players in the conference.
First Team
Jason McElroy-Oakdale

Harris Blackwood-Washington County Co-op

Nathan Young-Oakdale

Tony Shi-Urbana
Conor Finch-Carroll County Co-op
Jack Perna-Carroll County Co-op

Second Team
Brett Tibbs-Frederick County Co-op
Jake Krempa-Oakdale
Hunter Finks-Carroll County Co-op
Phin Hooper-Oakdale
Perry Goodale-Carroll County Co-op

Caleb Ludwig-Urbana

The Monocacy Valley Conference Scholarship Committee is pleased to award a $500 MSHL scholarship to a Senior who exhibits exemplary academic performance while playing ice hockey on a Varsity team. Congratulations to the 2018 recipient and Washington County Northstar John Cantor.  

MSHL College Scholarship Application

Coaches Meeting Tuesday, 1/30/18

Time & Location:   7:00 pm at C.Burr Artz Public Library in Downtown Frederick.  We are meeting in the Trust Conference Room.

Agenda :Playoffs

             Selection of 2018 All Conference Players

             Selection of Seniors for 2/25/18 MSHL Senior Jamboree Game


Recent Monocacy Valley News

Conference Leaders